Who are we?

The Charlton Society was formed in 1969 after The Village came under threat from a new roadbuilding scheme. The diggers were seen off, and in 1972 the Society was at the forefront of the campaign to save Charlton Assembly Rooms from sale.

We monitor local planning applications, hold public meetings on local issues (such as the Charlton Riverside masterplan), and in 2014 we held local council election hustings for both Charlton and Woolwich Riverside wards.

The Charlton Society’s run by a chair, secretary and a committee, which is elected at its annual general meeting each October.

Charlton Society 2017-18 committee (Elected Oct 2017)
Chair: Carol Kenna
Secretary: Vacant at present (Liz Green acting Secretary)
Treasurer: Geoff Cooper
Vice-chair: Roden Richardson

Committee members:

  • David Gardner
  • Ian Ford
  • Pauline Langley (membership secretary)
  • Gary Dillon
  • Angela Burr
  • Ruth Dodson

The Charlton Society is a registered charity. (Charity Commission number 260077.)